Apply to be the Northeast Missouri Livestock Person of the Year

Applications are now being accepted for 2014 Northeast Missouri Livestock Person of the Year. Applications are open to residents from any of the following counties in northeast Missouri: Adair, Clark, Knox, Lewis, Linn, Macon, Marion, Monroe, Pike, Putnam, Randolph, Ralls, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby, or Sullivan. The individual receiving this award must have made a significant contribution to the livestock industry in northeast Missouri and/or beyond. Eligible applicants can be producers of livestock, agribusiness personnel, agency personnel, or agriculture researchers. Other parties who have been long-time supporters of the northeast Missouri livestock industry will also be considered. The selected applicant will become a member of the Northeast Missouri Livestock Producers Hall of Fame and will be inducted at a ceremony at the Missouri Livestock Symposium to be held in Kirksville on December 5 & 6, 2014.

Applications must be received no later than 4:30 p.m. on May 1, 2014. Applications may be found online here, at the Adair County Extension Center, 503 E. Northtown Road, Kirksville, MO or by calling 660-665-9866.

The successful applicant will be inducted into the coveted Northeast Missouri Livestock Producer Hall of Fame and receive a hand painted 20 x 24 framed oil portrait with plaque. Past inductees include David Moore, DVM, Kirksville, MO; Bill Sidwell, Queen City, MO; Wayne â??Docâ?? Smith, Winigan, MO; Dale Watson, Kirksville, MO; Garry Mathes, Greentop, MO; Kenneth Eitel, Greencastle, MO; Dr. Kyle Kent, Green City, MO, Charles Selway, Williamstown, MO; Paul Wilson, Shelbina, MO, Bob Perry, Bethel, MO and Harold Trump, Luray, MO.

If additional information is required, please call Garry Mathes at (660)-341-6625 or the Adair County Extension Center at (660)-665-9866.

Equal opportunity/ADA institution.

Click here to read about the 2013 Northeast Missouri Livestock Person of the Year.