Bloomfield Main Street receives awards

Bloomfield Main Street was the recipient of awards as Main Street Iowa recognized outstanding achievements throughout the state.

The awards ceremony was held in Des Moines and presented by Governor Terry Branstad and Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds.

Recipients included Carol Taylor and Gary Spurgeon.

They won Volunteer of the Year and Main Street Hero respectively.

Bloomfield Main Street was also recognized with the $10 Million Dollar Main Street Community Award.

This award means $10 million of private money has been invested into the downtown Main Street District.

Bloomfield Main Street Executive Director Janell Pottorff said these awards reflected the hard work of the group.

"We're really proud of what we've done here on Main Street," said Pottorff. "And through all the programs that we've been given the opportunity to take advantage of and invest in our buildings. Structurally, our downtown looks great. We're really proud of that."

Bloomfield Main Street continues to be busy as they work on a new upper story housing project downtown.