66
      Saturday
      79 / 62
      Sunday
      81 / 62
      Monday
      83 / 64

      Community members encouraged to help Make Kirksville Shine

      Need a little push to finally get around to that yard work you've been putting off?

      Or motivation to pick up a piece of trash when you're out for your daily walk?

      Well, that push might be hitting you a lot sooner than you think.

      Make Kirksville Shine committee members are motivating the community to participate in the clean-up event going on this Saturday, August 2nd.

      Not only will it be improving Kirksvilleâ??s appearance, but the event benefits home owners and employers, as well.

      â??I think we forget that just taking care and keeping things cleaned up will make a difference to everybodyâ??s property values,â?? said Annette Sweet, Make Kirksville Shine committee member. â??It helps employers bring new people into town and it also just tells people that we are as good as we are.â??

      The days leading up to the event will also be used to start the clean-up process.

      Aside from cleaning up their own property, community members are encouraged to help clean downtown, as well as city streets and sidewalks. Those volunteers will be provided with work gloves and trash bags.

      Downtown Clean-Up: Volunteers are asked to assemble at 202 E. Washington at 8 a.m. on Saturday, August 2nd. If you have questions or would like more information contact: Carol Kellum (ckellum@chestv.com), Virginia Halterman (vhalterman@atsu.edu) or Mari Macomber (mmacomber@kirksvillecity.com).

      City Street/Sidwalk Clean-Up: Volunteers are asked to assemble at the parking lot located at the corner of Franklin and Normal at 8 a.m. on Saturday, August 2nd. If you have questions or would like more information, contact: Annette Sweet (ASweet@ameren.com), Sandra Williams (Sandra.williams@kirksvillechamber.com) or Heidi Templeton (heidi@truman.edu).

      component-story-more_media_horiz-v1-01
      FOLLOW US ON TWITTER