Disaster Proclamation for Appanoose County issued

Governor Chet Culver Tuesday issued a disaster proclamation for Appanoose County in response to recent flash flooding.

People in Southeast Iowa continue to be affected by extremely heavy rains, with some areas receiving up to eight inches in the past four days, Culver said Tuesday. This rain closely follows river crests above flood stage throughout the Des Moines River basin, putting stress on storm sewers, water systems, bridges, some roads and other critical infrastructure. We TMre monitoring the situation closely along with the Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division, and making the appropriate declarations as needed.

The proclamation authorizes coordination of any use of state resources to help local officials to prevent and fight any flooding occurrences.

Reminder: The following 37 counties are also under state disaster proclamations from earlier storms in June and July:

Black Hawk, Buena Vista, Butler, Clay, Davis, Emmet, Fayette, Hamilton, Howard, Humboldt, Jasper, Jefferson, Kossuth, Lee, Lucas, Lyon, O TMBrien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Van Buren, Webster, Cherokee, Decatur, Franklin, Hancock, Mahaska, Marion, Monroe, Polk, Ringgold, Shelby, Sioux, Taylor, Union, Wapello, Warren, and WrightRelease from the Office of Iowa Governor Culver