First votes in 2012 election to be cast Thursday

      This week, the first votes of the 2012 general election will be cast; as usual, all eyes are on Iowa and its six electoral votes.

      Wapello County Auditor Kelly Spurgeon tells KTVO that absentee ballots are now available and will be mailed out to voters throughout Wapello County that have requested them.

      Voters can start voting at the Wapello County Courthouse starting Thursday through November 5th.

      The Wapello County Auditor's Office will be open on two Saturdays for voter pre-registration and absentee voting, on October 27th and also on November 3rd.

      For more information about voting in your southeast Iowa county, contact your county auditor.

      Henry County Auditor:

      Shelly Barber

      (319) 385-0756

      Van Buren County Auditor:

      Jon P. Finney

      (319) 293-3129

      Jefferson County Auditor:

      Scott Reneker

      (641) 472-2840

      Davis County Auditor:

      Linda Humphrey

      (641) 664-2101

      Wapello County Auditor:

      Kelly Spurgeon

      (641) 683-0020

      Keokuk County Auditor:

      Christy Bates

      (641) 622-2320

      Mahaska County Auditor:

      Kay Swanson

      (641) 673-7148

      Monroe County Auditor:

      Jeannie Bettis

      (641) 932-2865

      Appanoose County Auditor:

      Linda Demry

      (641) 856-6191