Gov. Terry Branstad declares disaster proclamations for 15 counties

Gov. Terry Branstad issued a disaster proclamation on Tuesday for 15 Iowa counties due to storms and flooding, one being Wapello County.

On Tuesday of next week, a team from FEMA and from Homeland Security will come out and review the countyâ??s damage assessment.

There was severe damage in Ottumwa on 90th St. where the culvert washed out. That alone will cost several hundred thousand dollars to repair.

â??And if it meets a certain plateau as far as monetary damages that will be referred to the president and then the president will declare it a disaster. And if he declares it a disaster then a team from FEMA will come in and review and it opens up all kinds of avenues for funding for individuals and for government that have sustained damage as a result of the rains on I think it was April 17,â?? said Jerry Parker, Wapello County Supervisor.

Counties covered by the proclamation are Appanoose, Clinton, Davis, Decatur, Des Moines, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lucas, Marion, Monroe, Ringgold, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren and Wayne.

Low-income households in the 15 counties can apply for grants to help cover the cost of home repairs or other expenses.