Missouri students awarded scholarships for college

Two heartland students are getting some extra money for college.

The Missouri Corn Scholarship Committee is proud to announce the recipients of the 2013 Missouri Corn Scholarships. Each student will be awarded a $750 scholarship sponsored by the Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) and the Missouri Corn Merchandising Council (MCMC) to contribute to their college education.

"We had a great group of applicants this year," said Missouri Corn Scholarship Chairman Mark Scott of Wentzville, Mo. "Missouri Corn is proud to offer these scholarships and looks forward to continuing our support of youth in agriculture. With so many advancements in the industry, Missouri Corn believes it is vital to invest in our youth to help them achieve their goals and prepare for their future careers."

Missouri high school seniors and college students entering their senior year pursuing a degree in agronomy or related field were eligible. Congratulations go out to the following 2013 Missouri Corn Scholarship recipients:

Miriam Martin, Bucklin - attending the University of Missouri

Mason Kiehl, Meadville - attending the University of Missouri

Applications were scored by the Missouri Corn Scholarship Committee. In addition to Scott, the committee is comprised of Missouri Corn board members Mike Moreland of Harrisonville, Jay Fischer of Jefferson City and Scott Hays of Monroe City. Recipients were notified by mail earlier this month. This is the seventeenth year Missouri Corn Scholarships have been awarded to students studying agriculture.

Applications for the 2014 Missouri Corn Scholarship Program will be available online after Dec. 15, 2013. To learn more about the corn industry, visit or call the Missouri Corn offices at (800) 827-4181.