Ottumwa JROTC students recognized at awards ceremony

Ottumwa JROTC students were honored at the 18th annual awards ceremony Monday evening. A total of 14 different national organizations, including Amvets, the VFW and the Sons and Daughters of the American Revolution, presented awards to 16 cadets and 36 cadets received awards from local organizations.

The Bulldog Battalion, Color Guard teams and Raider team have been busy competing at invitationals across the state. The awards ceremony is a good way to cap off a year of hard work.

"We ended our drill season the 5th of April, we started our Raider season the 5th of April, so essentially all winter, we've been on the go," said Chief John Wynn. "We went right into spring and every weekend, we're away with the Raiders. So this is a way really to culminate all that. It's the end of our seasons and it's a way to recognize these kids and to finish the school year off on a good note."

Garrett Orwig was recognized as Cadet of the Year. To be eligible for that award, a student must have a 4.0 GPA in JROTC, a 2.5 GPA or higher in other high school classes and be nominated for Cadet of the Quarter, among other qualifications.

Next for the JROTC program is their Cadet Ball next weekend.

The full list of award recipients is as follows:

Physical Fitness Awards:

Female -

1) Monica Aparicio, 2) Alayna Hubbard, 3) Kateland McKeag, 4) Angela Cortes, 5) Lois Ivey

Male -

1) Sebastian Silva, 2) Colin Vandello, 3) Richard Davis, 4) Riley Wynn, 5) Nick Sheehy

The Daedalion Award: Harry McVey

The Reserve Officer Association Medal: Julietta Ibarra

The Military Order of World Wars: Ammari Rayos

The American Veterans of WWII, Korea and Vietnam: Angela Cortes

The Sojourners Award: Nathan Robinson

The Military Officers of America: Ryker Tharp

The Non-Commissioned Officers Association Award: Morgan Houston

The Military Order of the Purple Heart: Karoline Moreira

Daughters of the American Revolution: Monica Carapia

American Legion - Scholastic Excellence: Lance Breon

American Legion - Military Excellence: Sebastian Silva

Sons of the American Revolution: Aaron Arguello

Veterans of Foreign Wars: Silver: Corbin Ash, Bronze: Michael Akers

U.S. Army Recruiting Command Award: Male - Christian Garrett, Female - Monica Aparicio

Most Improved Raider Team Member: Aaron Arguello

Distinguished Service Ribbon (N-3-13): Jacqueline Aparicio, Caitlynn Belz, Nick Boyer, Kane Braumbaugh, Savanah Davidson, Breanna Kellar, Anthony Jessop, Cody Luke, Joseph Lyons, Caroline McDowell, Trevor Medina, William Meyer, Rachael O'Connor, Lyset Rivera, William Taylor and Riley Wynn

Good Conduct Medal (N-3-10): Levi Brunk, Seirrah Davidson, Christopher Stavely

Superior Cadet Awards: Let 1- Cadet Alexis Young, Let 2 - Cadet Christopher Mills, Let 3- Cadet Magen Simmons, Let 4 - Kyle Courtney

Cadet of the Year: Garrett Orwig