Truman State University recognizes Educator of the Year

Truman State University announces Sgt. Jeremy Byers, instructor in military science, received the 2014 Educator of the Year award at Truman State Universityâ??s second annual Accolades of Academics banquet, which took place April 23 on campus.

Byers teaches leadership courses for Trumanâ??s ROTC program. He was chosen for this award based on his dedication to encouraging students to become leaders in and outside of the military science department, support from countless students and colleagues, and his devotion to converting the radar station north of Kirksville into a space that benefits both the Military Science Department and the University at large.

In addition to Sgt. Byers, finalists for this award include Dr. Katherine Jackson, Dr. Jerrold Hirsch, Professor Donald Krause, Professor Beverly Peters and Dr. Debra Cartwright.

Dr. Carolyn Cox, professor of Health Science, was awarded the Outstanding Research Mentor of the Year Award.

Cox has mentored countless students on a variety of projects, many of which have a positive effect on the Kirksville community. Her studentsâ?? research has been published nationally and students have presented at national conferences. In addition, Coxâ??s students regularly write grants and are awarded competitive funding to complete their projects.

Other finalists for the Outstanding Research Mentor of the Year include Professor Salvatore Costa and Dr. David Conner in Psychology, Dr. Carol Marshall in Spanish, and Dr. Stephen Hudman in Biology.

Professors honored at the Accolades of Academics banquet were all nominated by students and were awarded by a student-driven committee. Students have the opportunity to nominate students for these awards each year at