Whoâ??s the new Kirksville School Board member?

Kirksville R-III School Board.

Who is the newest Kirksville School Board member? Well that is still to be determined.

Eight Kirksville residents wanted a chance to fill the Kirksville R-III School Board seat vacated recently by Matt Copeland. The eight residents who applied for Copelandâ??s seat on the board are Greg Gordon, Jerry Stremel, Teresa Heckert, Robin Darr, Deb Krusniak, Leon Devlin, Karen Sylvara and Nan Davis.

The school board began Wednesday evening's two-part nomination process by each voting for three of the eight candidates. From there it was narrowed down to two: Nan Davis and Greg Gordon. The board then each voted for one candidate, which ended in a tie.

There was then a nomination to not vote again, but to invite both Gordon and Davis to the next work session on May 22. At that time, the school board will then hear from each nominee and decide which one will be the new school board member.

Copeland resigned last month, saying only that he is pursuing employment that would be in conflict with his remaining time on the board.