Former IHCC basketball players honored at the state capital

Former Indian Hills basketball players Dustin Hogue and Jameel McKay were among the Iowa State University team members who were honored at the Iowa Capitol on Monday.

The state Senate and House adopted resolutions to salute the Cyclones for their accomplishments in the 2013-14 season and congratulate coach Fred Hoiberg for leading ISU to 28 wins, a Big 12 tournament title and the program's first Sweet 16 appearance since 2000.

Iowa lawmakers, including state representatives Mary Gaskill (Ottumwa) and Curt Hanson (Fairfield), honored the Cyclones for what lawmakers described as a "brilliant" season.

Hoiberg told legislators the bipartisan support the team has received from across the state is appreciated, and that the success they achieved wouldn't have been possible without it.

Courtesy IHCC