Big payday for Ryan Hunter-Reay

Ryan Hunter-Reay's Indianapolis 500 win brought him a $2.49 million payday. The Indianapolis Motor Speedway announced the winnings Monday night. Hunter-Reay edged Helio Castroneves by 0.060 seconds Sunday in the second-closest margin of victory in the history of the race. He became the first American to win the Indy 500 since Sam Hornish Jr. in 2006. Castoneves earned more than $785,000. Marco Andretti finished third, Carlos Munoz was fourth and Kurt Busch was sixth as Andretti Autosports captured four of the top six positions.

Andretti earned $585,000 and Munoz $449,000. Busch, named rookie of the year, collected nearly $424,000. Fifth-place finisher Juan Pablo Montoya won nearly $442,000 in his first Indy 500 since winning as a rookie in 2000.