Changes are ahead in the selection process for the NASCAR Hall of Fame

The Sprint Cup champion will get to vote on NASCAR's Hall of Fame.

NASCAR officials announced it Thursday at Homestead-Miami Speedway, adding other "significant changes" to the Hall of Fame selection process and eligibility rules will be revealed during Champions Week in Las Vegas next month.

The addition brings the total number of voters to 56. The group includes Hall of Famers, NASCAR officials, track representatives, retired drivers, crew chiefs and team owners and media members.

Either points leader Jimmie Johnson, Matt Kenseth or Kevin Harvick will get to cast a vote in May.

They are the only three in contention for the Cup championship heading in the season finale.

NASCAR spokesman Brett Jewks says, "We're grateful for the opportunity to have another credible voice added to that important moment."