IHCC golf wins another district championship

The Indian Hills golf team showed by its play in the District III meet this week that it is ready to take a run at another national championship.

The Warriors, who won titles in 2011 and '12, surged to a 17-stroke victory over runnerup Hutchinson CC in the meet at Alvamar Country Club course.

IHCC's Colin Pearson rolled in a 30-foot birdie putt on the first playoff hole to take medalist honors, beating teammate George Trujillo in the process.

The Warriors' Jakob Garstecki and Luke Monson also finished in the top five in Indian Hills' third straight tournament win and 4th in six meets this spring.

The Warriors were remarkably consistent through the three rounds of the event, shooting 301, 300 and 301 to easily outdistance the rest of the field.

They were 17 shots better than Hutchinson and 27 strokes ahead of third-place Dodge City (Kan.).

The one-two finish for Pearson and Trujillo earned them spots on the all-district team and they were joined by Garstecki, who finished just one shot off the lead, and Monson, who held the individual lead heading into Tuesday's final 18 holes.

Pearson had rounds of 76, 74 and 74. Trujillo opened with a one-under 71. Garstecki recovered after an opening-round 81 to shoot 71 and 73 the next two rounds.

Sam Sloman, like Monson playing as an individual, tied for 9th, giving IHCC five in the top 10.

With the national tourney being played at Spirit Hollow in Burlington, the Warriors won't have far to go in their battle for another trophy. The meet will run from May 13-16.

NJCAA District III Championship

Team scores

1. Indian Hills 301-300-301=902; 2. Hutchinson 304-304-311=919; 3. Dodge City 317-307-305=929; T4. Iowa Western 312-311-310=933; T4. Johnson County 314-311-308=933; 6. Barton County 325-311-315=951; 7. Kansas City (Kans.) 325-319-312=956; 8. Garden City 341-324-331=996; 9. Coffeyville 334-345-337=1016; 10. Northwest Kansas Tech 388-404-390=1182

Indian Hills scores

T1. *Colin Pearson 76-74-74=224; T1. George Trujillo 71-78-75=224; 3. Jakob Garstecki 81-71-73=225; 4. Luke Monson 73-75-78=226; T9. Sam Sloman 76-79-75=230; T18. Harrison Moore 73-81-79=233; T26. Greg Stanek 84-77-79=240

Courtesy IHCC