Iowa City Regina wins its third consecutive Iowa state championship

Mark Ward passed for two touchdowns and a record 297 yards to lead Iowa City Regina to its third consecutive state championship Friday, a 35-14 victory over Council Bluffs St. Albert in the Class 1A title game.

Mike Donovan ran for two TDs and Nick Dolezal kicked two field goals for the Regals (14-0), who won their 42nd straight game to match the sixth-longest winning streak in state history.

Regina won the Class 2A championship each of the past two years and has four titles overall.

Ward's 19-yard touchdown pass on a screen to Riley Dixon broke a 14-all tie in the third quarter, and Dolezal kicked fourth-quarter field goals of 32 and 34 yards to secure the victory.