Democrats hold onto House 82 seat

Democrat Phil Miller is the State Representative-elect for House District 82.

Southeast Iowa voters have elected a new state representative.

The Democratic party’s Phil Miller is the new Iowa House District 82 representative. He is replacing long-term Democratic Representative Curt Hanson, who passed away earlier this summer.

The unofficial results say Miller beat republican candidate Travis Harris by nearly 700 votes.

In a statement from the Iowa House Democrats, Miller said he is honored to be given the chance to fill Hanson’s shoes and pledges to listen to the people in the district.

Harris told KTVO Tuesday night that despite the loss he will continue to work with local farm families and entrepreneurs to try to help expand the economy.

Miller will serve during the spring 2018 legislative session, but will have to run for re-election in the fall. Despite the democratic win, Republicans will still hold a 59 to 41 majority in the House.

Here are the unofficial results for the election:

Phil Miller (Democrat): 4,021

Travis Harris (Republican): 3,324

Joshua Miller (Libertarian): 71

Edward Hee (Constitution Party): 58

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off